Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Jig Fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Default Jig Fishing

Im new to the whole crappie fishing gig and what little crappie i do catch when i fish i catch on minnows and im wanting to learn how to fish jigs. So any info i could get i would appreciate it. Just dont know ANYTHING about it.

Post Thanks / Like

you can cast and count them down and retrieve, drift with them suspended or vertical jig in cover. depends on the water your fishing and location of fish. i like to get rite in on them. some people arent cut out for that though. you need to be slow and very quiet when doing it. youll need some stain to the water also to vertical jig them because they spook. watch the line for the twitch of a bite or feel for the thump. work at it and dont give up. the thump of a jig bite is a wonderful thing. lol add some sent too. crappie nibbles or chunk of minnow or shad works for me.

Post Thanks / Like

well if you gonna do it , don't get no minners . once you feel the thump it is hard to give it up . I jig fish year around . Once you learn to find the fish , if you try you can catch them on a jig . I use the nibbles too . they work . and color everybody has there favorite . And you never know what the crappie want . it is all a learning curve and sometimes it's a big curve . lol just start and stay with it . good luck
    CATCH THEM ALL.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I primarily cast jigs for Crappie. I don't do a lot of vertical jigging, longline trolling, or any of the other methods, if I can cast for them. 20ft depths is about the limit on my range of depth, on a cast.