Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question...jig pole fishermen

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question...jig pole fishermen

Hey All,

First of all, I am a newbie--a complete rookie, with no experience whatsoever at crappie fishing. That said, I've found the right place to learn, right here at this site. Also, thanks to reading the many thoughts and ideas from you all, I think I pretty much have all I need to be successful...just mainly need experience and time on the water. Among other things, I've purchased a very nice 9-foot, bottom-reel-mount, Ozark jig pole, along with plenty jig heads and a variety of plastics to do some single-poling...dipping around stumps and trees, as well as some deeper brush piles.

I suppose this will sound silly to those of you who have been doing this for so many years, but here's a scenario I envision, and my question: The water I fish is dark, with lots of cover in shallow water. It's spring-time and I am easing along, dropping my BG Baby Shad beside and along the stumps and logs that line the river I fish. Reaching out, I let her fall, and quickly feel the thump--a big ol' slab nails it. With a snap of the wrist and a steady lift upwards, she's hooked, and feels good on the end of the line. However, she's 8, 9 feet or so away from me, and there's only 3 feet of line off the tip of my jig pole--not at all like bringing one in on a regular casting rig, with plenty of line out and a 5 1/2-foot rod. How do I manage to get the fish back to me? Obviously in deeper water, it's not an issue--there's plenty of line out to work with. So, how do I do it--what is the process of getting that slab up and back to the boat? I welcome any and all who'd be willing to take the time to explain to me how 'they' do it...may be several different ideas. By the way, I'm using a spinning reel, with a good robust drag, in case I should hook a large fish. And oh, it is spooled with 6-pound P-line copoly.