Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is long lining?

Post Thanks / Like

Default What is long lining?

Can someone give a brief explanation of what it is? I found a video of a guy unrolling about 30 hooks from a spool while trolling in a boat. There aren't a lot of places around here that allow that.

I was wondering if the crappie guys have a different definition of it. I'm not a beginner, but I hadn't heard of long lining until recently.

Thanks much,

JW

Post Thanks / Like

longlining is casting out multiple rods out the back of your boat and hitting the trolling motor. We use 1/8 oz and 1/16th oz roadrunners with 2 or 3 " grubs but opinions vary on baits to use. i use zebco platnum 33 with 8# neon green line mounted to 8' Proangler rods. speeds should be around .6 to 1 MPH depending on the depth of the water. your lure weight, line weight, line length and speed will determine how deep your baits run. it is simple and allows you to cover lots of water quickly. you really need some good rod holders. i use Hi-teks. you can make your own as well but without them you will lose a rod or two down the road. big catfish love those RR
    Brush Buster
    Likes IceNitro LIKED above post

NIMROD is offline Crappie.com Legend - Kids Corner Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like what I thought Brush Buster, does that include trolling crankbaits? Creekslick would be the best answering questions on long lining. What Sea Ark Slabchaser referred to was salt water fishing sorta like a trotline if I understand correctly which is not the same. Long Lining in Saltwater is a commercial fishing similar to trotining except many more hooks and miles of line. Long lining for Crappie is trolling with rod and reel.
    Moderator of Beginners n Mentoring forum
    Takeum Jigs

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like