Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sufix 832 Line Question PRO'S, CONS??

Post Thanks / Like

Default Sufix 832 Line Question PRO'S, CONS??

Well I just Bought a Spool of Sufix 832 20lb. 6 mono Equiv. Line. I have never used any braided line before but was thinking about trying it. Anyone have any Pro's or Con's/ Issues with it? I bought one spool as of now, but if I like it i may switch over to it. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

GLAD you posted this----I'm also would like to know

Post Thanks / Like

You will loose less jigs, fill more strikes, it does not sink as fast as mono and will cast further. The only down fall is wind knots and they are harder to get out . this is my experience on a spinning reel for casting jigs. It didnt work well with a float ether. But I like the braid and think you will as well. Hope this helps

Post Thanks / Like

I have not used the 832, but I have used Sufix Performance Braid. Braid has less stretch than mono, so be careful about how you set the hook. Setting the hook too hard will rip it right out of their mouth. The Sufix I used was very limp, which is both good and bad. Extreme limpness means it casts further than mono, but you also get the wind knots cur mentioned and it's more prone to wrapping around the guides or rod tip when pitching. It's also very noisy when running through the guides. I did not have any problems using it with a float, but I always used a leader, which I also advise. Tying on a leader of mono or fluorocarbon with a lower breaking strength means you'll lose less line when you snag up, and that stuff is too expensive to be breaking off.

Eventually I discovered Nanofil and switched to that. It still casts a mile and does not have problems with tangles and wind knots.
    Don't worry, catch crappie.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like