Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spidder rigging rod control

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spidder rigging rod control

Hi,
    I am pretty new to spider rigging and need some advice. I am using mostly 10' and 12' rods and am having a heck of a time with keeping them organized while in the boat.

First off, before I leave home I rig all of rods with the hooks and sinkers in place but I have to break them down for transport to and from the lake. I have been using pipe cleaners to wrap around the two rod pieces to keep them together but I am having a hard time keeping the hooks and sinkers under control while en route to the lake. By the time I get to the lake some of the hooks and sinkers have intertwined with another rods rigging and it takes me longer than I would like to get the rods untangled and ready to go.

Also, while on the lake I have problems when I pull all of my rods in to move to another spot. I have vertical rod racks in my boat so I have room to store the rods but again I have problems with the hooks and sinkers tangling. Running down the lake with 16 hooks swinging around the rods means that some day something bad is gonna happen.

I know there must be a good way to control my tackle so I am depending on some of you, with more experience than me, to give me some guidance.

Thanks to all who offer suggestions.

ccm

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

ccm .. consider this : slip on rod covers.

There may be a problem, though, and that would be finding some long enough to cover your poles, at least down to the point where the hook/sinker rigs are covered. I'm not sure whether anyone makes one long enough, though, as I've only seen them for rods of a max length of ~ 8ft.