PDA

View Full Version : Boat motor problem

turkeyfootnc
07-27-2006, 08:45 PM
I am having a problem with my Johnson 50hp motor. It idles fine, but when I get going around 10MPH the motor starts running like it has a fouled plug. It isn't a plug because I've changed them twice. I took it to a shop and they cleaned the carbs and said it was ready. I took it to the lake and had the same problem. I dropped the boat off and they worked on the carbs again and it is still not running right. While the boat has been at the shop, I have had 3 people tell me of having the same problem. They have told me their problem was a pinhole in the fuel line or pump and the motor sucked in too much air. I changed the fuel line and the pump and I'm still having the same problem. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks for your help!

Mike Epperson
07-27-2006, 09:00 PM
First off, I am not a mechanic. But since you have tried most things on the fuel side, maybe it is electrical. Just my 2 cents.

Matt Smith
07-27-2006, 09:13 PM
What year is the motor?

Does it feel like you are losing a cylinder, is the motor surging, or what?

Jumping Cholla Jigs
07-27-2006, 09:51 PM
It sure sounds like a fuel problem. Clogged filter, pin hole sucking air or bad pump diaphram.

Swanie
07-27-2006, 09:53 PM
I had a problem like that. I could not get full power. Found out one the the spark plug wires had a pin point hole in it.
Might be worth your time to check and see.

thudpucker
07-27-2006, 10:18 PM
That's about the speed where the points start bouncing when you have a Worn Upper main bearing. That's on an older engine with Points.
If you have one of the newer engines with the Solid state ignition, it could be the same thing because the Trigger coil might be sufferning from too much of a gap at times.

You'll need a buddy to run the boat, and the use of a timing light to figure this one out.
What you'll see (if I'm right) is a bouncing or staggering firing pulse.