Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boat motor problem

Post Thanks / Like

Default Boat motor problem

I am having a problem with my Johnson 50hp motor. It idles fine, but when I get going around 10MPH the motor starts running like it has a fouled plug. It isn't a plug because I've changed them twice. I took it to a shop and they cleaned the carbs and said it was ready. I took it to the lake and had the same problem. I dropped the boat off and they worked on the carbs again and it is still not running right. While the boat has been at the shop, I have had 3 people tell me of having the same problem. They have told me their problem was a pinhole in the fuel line or pump and the motor sucked in too much air. I changed the fuel line and the pump and I'm still having the same problem. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks for your help!

Post Thanks / Like

First off, I am not a mechanic. But since you have tried most things on the fuel side, maybe it is electrical. Just my 2 cents.

Post Thanks / Like

What year is the motor?

Does it feel like you are losing a cylinder, is the motor surging, or what?

Post Thanks / Like

It sure sounds like a fuel problem. Clogged filter, pin hole sucking air or bad pump diaphram.

Swanie Guest

Default Motor Problem

I had a problem like that. I could not get full power. Found out one the the spark plug wires had a pin point hole in it.
    Might be worth your time to check and see.
    Last edited by Swanie; 07-27-2006 at 09:56 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

That's about the speed where the points start bouncing when you have a Worn Upper main bearing. That's on an older engine with Points.
    If you have one of the newer engines with the Solid state ignition, it could be the same thing because the Trigger coil might be sufferning from too much of a gap at times.

You'll need a buddy to run the boat, and the use of a timing light to figure this one out.