PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Line Question - SORRY

keeferfish
01-11-2013, 08:12 PM
I’ve been fishing braid exclusively for more than 4 years and bright yellow at that, Spring,Summer,Fall and Winter. I see many people attach mono or fluorocarbon to braid I assume for Stealth? I have never noticed someone out catching another due to line alone. I have taken a black marker and colored my line near the jig but have noticed no difference.

I guess my question is if you attach some other line to braid wouldn’t you be giving up the only advantages it provides, like strength, feel and no stretch?

skeetbum
01-11-2013, 11:19 PM
Fluoro is less seen and still doesn't have much stretch. I use hi vis braid and a 12lb fluoro leader, attached with a double uni knot.With the jig in the loop at the bottom of the rod the fluoro is dead straight and I lose no feel. Most folks use a smaller diameter leader but this is what I had and at $15 or more a spool I'm gonna use it til I can find a reason not to.

Turtlebait
01-12-2013, 09:39 AM
Like you I have been useing braid for several years,its on all my rods and jig poles.I have used all different colored lines several different line sizes.I fish,clear,off color to stained water and haven't noticed any differents in line color or size.Really I think if a fish is going to eat or snack it doesn't make it no differents it the jig or minner is tied to a hair line or log chain its going eat or snack.

CrappiePappy
01-12-2013, 09:50 AM
I’ve been fishing braid exclusively for more than 4 years and bright yellow at that, Spring,Summer,Fall and Winter. I see many people attach mono or fluorocarbon to braid I assume for Stealth? I have never noticed someone out catching another due to line alone. I have taken a black marker and colored my line near the jig but have noticed no difference.

I guess my question is if you attach some other line to braid wouldn’t you be giving up the only advantages it provides, like strength, feel and no stretch?