Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I'm a Newbie to Crappie Fishing and I've come for help

Post Thanks / Like

Default I'm a Newbie to Crappie Fishing and I've come for help

So, I guess I'll start this off with an Introduction and a little about myself. I am a 46 year old Retired Veteran. I retired from the Army in 2006 from here at Fort Benning Georgia. Kids are grown and last year I purchased a 2012 Z7 Nitro which I had decked out with an iPilot Trolling Motor, Lowrance HDS systems for the front and console with the Structure Scan package. I used to be very involved in Bass Fishing Tournaments back in the 90's and wanted to get back into it, minus the Tournaments. So that's why I went all out on my Equipment and Tackle. I tend to go overboard with everything.

With that said...

On top of wanting to become a Crappie Fisherman, I also want to become an active member of this board. I really love how you guys help each other out.

One of the first thing I've noticed is the techniques have changed a lot since I last crappie fished. So basically it's been a good 30 years since I went fishing specifically for Crappie. I think I was like 16 or so.

Soooooooooo, I guess I'll start off by explaining how I envision myself fishing for Crappie and we can go from there. I would really like to get into Spider Rig fishing (See, I've read a little bit, hehe) and my buddy and myself are planning on building our own Spider Rig mounts. I have access to the Auto Craft shop on Fort Benning so I can use their Aluminum Welder and Tig Weld up some mounts.

Last weekend I purchased one of those Jimmy Houston Crappie Rods from Dicks Sporting good and put 4lb line on it. I was thinking of purchasing 3 more of them. Would that be a good choice?

So, I guess I'll end this post here and build on it as I get some comments or tips. Once again, I really appreciate your guys help on this and I'm thrilled to start learning the ropes on this!