Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Winter fishing tips.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Winter fishing tips.

Went fishing last night on Percy Priest in Tennessee. Had tons of boat problems and didn't catch any fish. Thought day on the water.

Tried a few spots I caught a log of crappie back in the summer. I had been fishing at night and love fishing under the lights.

I fished in the middle of the lake and have found some standing timber right near the channel in 40 ft of water. The channel is about 70 foot deep.

Using my electronics I just couldn't find any bait fish and we only caughtn keepers.

Do any of you have luck fishing at night in the winter time?

Should I look farther up river in shallower water or maybe farther down the lake in deeper areas. I need to learn more about winter patterns and if night fishing is effective.

Any tips are well appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

I am no expert, but since nobody else chimed in I will give my .02. I dont know your lake but I would think that 15-30 ft would be a good place to start. If you have any knowledge of where they are holding during the day, then fish those same places at night. Timber near a drop sounds like a great place to anchor for some night fishing. Find some kind of structure: brush, drops, a bend in the channel, then check your electronics for shad and or Crappie. Once you find your soot, anchor a little ways away and cast to the outer edge of your lights. I would start with minnows close to the bottom close to the bottom. Again, i am no expert and i do not know your lake, but that would be my approach.
    ><}}}}*> (C.J.)

Post Thanks / Like