Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: where to go

Post Thanks / Like

Default where to go

I would like to go crappie fishing early April. I am kind of new to crappie fishing and 70 years old so I would like to keep drive to 6 hrs or so. I am located 30min. north of Harrisburg Pa. Probably looking at going south in the warm. prefer to rent house or cottage on water. Any sugguestions?

Post Thanks / Like

i don't know how far a drive it is but you can't beat MISSISSIPPI when it come to crappie fishing !!!!!!!!
    Pro Staff:
    Excel Boat (Meatgetter Edition)
    Crappieholic Apparel
    Hi-Tek Stuff
    Ozark Rods

Please support these great companies!

Post Thanks / Like

I can't help you in that part of that country but once you decide where your going you can find some great rentals here.

VRBOŽ is Vacation Rentals By Owner

Helicopter Pilot
    Vietnam 67/68
    Proud Member of the Southeast Asian War Games Team

Spaceman is offline Crappie.com 3K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Where to go....welcome to the board. I attended the War College in Carlisle a few years ago. We used to bank fish Opossum Lake frequently for crappie, and did fairly well. It is an easy access lake, and is 15-20 minutes NW of Carlisle, PA. This would be fairly close to where you live.

A 6 hour drive will get you somewhere into VA, WV, Ohio, parts of Kentucky, and maybe parts of NC. I know that Carlisle, PA to Huntsville, AL is about a 12 hour drive. I can't help you with the other states I mentioned above, but I do agree with meatgetter that Mississippi is a great place to fish. I can also say the same for Alabama.

Hopefully someone from VA, Ohio, WV, VA, or NC can give you some good tips.

BTW you live in a beautiful part of the country!

Spaceman

Post Thanks / Like