Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Flipped Kayak Stories

Post Thanks / Like

Default Flipped Kayak Stories

After reading NeonMoon's ordeal about flipping on a stump in cold water it seems a thread for anyone else that's flipped is in order. I'm not talking about white water stuff, but your average fishing day on the water. It could be educational for those of us who have never been dunked to see what type of things can lead to trouble.

I've been around a lot of power boat traffic that I thought would do it, but to my surprise not even close.

Post Thanks / Like

Numerous years ago, I was a SCUBA diving instructor and learned to deal with unexpected situations dealing with water. When I first started purchasing
    kayaks, my first concern was stability and how it related to safety. Not too worried about myself, but didn't relish the idea of replacing fishing equipment
    on any kind of regular basis. So, no.........I haven't flipped one yet, but being prepared as has been mentioned (dry clothes in a waterproof bag) has been
    one of my rules. First aid kit, duct tape, everything except a spare inflatable kayak in the hatch has been my norm. When I do flip my first time, I'll have to
    reaccess my abilities and ask myself, "am I too old to be doing this"? Until then, I'm going to play it as safe as I can remember. The first time I look around
    and ask myself "where the heck is my truck"? I may have to start having a fishing partner. Stay hydrated and keep snacks dry.
    "Proud Member of Team Geezer"

Post Thanks / Like

Too bad no-one else commented, very good post!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BlueFoxKiller View Post
    Too bad no-one else commented, very good post!
    Hope it's not from fear of embarrassment. Heck, it's no different than tripping while walking, just gonna happen now and then. You get-up, look around to see who saw you do it, brush yourself, and keep on walkin'.