Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Warmouth Sunfish ?

Cane Pole is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Warmouth Sunfish ?

I have been catching these dudes for over 50+ years and have always called them rock bass. I catch the mainly during the heat of the summer around my boat dock. Learn something new here everyday. Guess I need to do some anal checking..........................on the fish fins that is...lol...

History report anyone?
    Last edited by Cane Pole; 01-10-2009 at 02:02 PM.
    Member BS Pro-Staff and Billbob Pro-Staff
    Proud Member of Team Geezer... authorized by: billbob and "G"

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Hey CanePole ...

I've been catching 'em for about that long .... I have known them to be called "red-eye", "goggle-eye", "rock bass", "stump-knockers", Warmouth, and a friend of mine got me calling them "Mallygougers" (just a name he made up) since back in the 70's :p
    I don't know how many times I've set the hook, fishing for Bass (esp with a jig in the Spring), thinking I have a big old honking monster Bass running off with my jig .... only to send a Warmouth into orbit - or, at the least, flying on the end of the line to the other side of the boat....LOL!!
    I've eaten them .... and they aren't half bad. They are a very aggressive fish, and I've caught them on baits nearly twice as big as they were.

I had one for a couple of years, in my 28gal aquarium ... and Moose is right - they eat first, no matter what other species or how many other fish are in there with them ... they're just that aggressive!