HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Keeping Minnows alive?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Keeping Minnows alive?

Hi, all I'm pretty new to crappie fishing. The county that I live in doesn't have a bait shop with minnows. How would you recommend I keep some alive over night? I'd like to buy a couple of dozen the day before I go fishing.

Post Thanks / Like

I bought a cheap 110 volt aquarium pump from Wallmart and I keep it in my shop. I put any minnows I have left over in a styrofoam bucket and drop the aerator in it and plug it in. As I type this there are around 2 dozen swimming around in it that I put in last Saturday. I use a Plano plastic bucket that I installed a battery powered bubbler on to carry in my boat. I think I have had 2 die since last Saturday.
    Hot summertime is a different story and I usually don't try to keep more than a day or two.
    SeaRay
    Mark 1:17 ...I will make you fishers of men

Post Thanks / Like

PS
    How did you manage to move to a county that don't sell minnows??

Post Thanks / Like

Lol I was wo seeing the same thing searay. Lol but a good styrofoam or insulated bucket or cooler with a aerator or aquarium pump should fix you right up.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by SeaRay View Post
    PS
    How did you manage to move to a county that don't sell minnows??
    I'm that lucky!!! Just when I start crappie fishing, the local bait shop goes out of business.
    Last edited by snakeshooter1; 11-08-2012 at 11:24 PM. Reason: smiley sdded

Post Thanks / Like

seriously though I will look into getting a aquarium pump in the morning and get it setup for my next trip. thanks for the quick replies.

Post Thanks / Like

seriously though I will look into getting a aquarium pump in the morning and get it setup for my next trip. thanks for the quick replies.

Post Thanks / Like