Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Inane question to the experienced guys.

Post Thanks / Like

Smile Inane question to the experienced guys.

I look at the plethora of Jigs and other things to catch Crappie with.
    I know some of them are for show, some are to bring in new folks, and some are your favorites. The Go-To lures you start with, and the next two or three in series that you use to determine if the fish are biting here, or move along.

What's the most popular starting Jig? Snake? worm? or other.
    And then what are the next two or three you use?

I'm witless at catching Crappie.
    I threw some dynamite in a pond.
    All I got was a Ticket for fishing without holding my Stick!
    I just wish I could be better at fishing. Or maybe luckier!:D

Post Thanks / Like

I'm not experienced either and would like to hear these answers also! Great question.

Post Thanks / Like

Depending upon the time of year and method of fishing. Spring/spawn #1 is a hair jig. If that's not doin the trick I move to a plastic such as a Lft live baby shad or similar. Summer spider rigging, I start off with a double rig. Many combos that can go here (hair jig, hair jig tipped with minnow, jig head with plastic, or plain crappie hooks tipped with minnows etc.) . Another summer method that I really love is pulling/pushin crank baits. That is pretty straightforward just different colors! Some others may chime in that longline, I don't quite have that stuff figured out!

Post Thanks / Like

Hard to beat a reg ole 1.5 or 2 inch tube......can catch em year round on em.....

1) tube jig
    2) stinger
    3) minnow (live bait)

Post Thanks / Like

Start simple. I use black/chart, white or yellow twister tails a big part of the time. 1/8 and 1/16 jig heads. It doesn't hurt to have similar jigs in maribou and all with Roadrunner heads as well. If you can't catch fish with those, you aren't in the right place or the fish aren't biting.