Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Weedguard for jigheads

Post Thanks / Like

Default Weedguard for jigheads

My name is Rich and I live in Maryland. I fish mainly for rock and we fish for them all year. In the winter, we fish a nuclear power plant. We need 1 1/2 to 2 ozs to get to the bottom. Needless to say, we lose alot of jigheads. I pour my own so its not to bad, but I have a question for you guys that pour jigheads with weedguards. Does anyone on your board, pour 2 oz jigheads with a weedguard or can this even be done. I was thinking that this weedguards might help with not getting hung up as often. I have never used weedguards before and not sure about how it will work with rock. How much difference is the hook set when using a weedgurad. Any information that you guys have experienced would be greatly appreciated. If anyone pours these, please contact me. Thanks, Rich

Post Thanks / Like

I know Do It Corp. sells big Y guards for molds but don't know if they make them Y guards big enough for a 2 oz. jighead. The big Y guards are pretty stiff for the lighter ones I've see (like 1 oz.) I would recommend you call them and if they don't have it ask if their blank molds could be used to have someone work it up for you but only if you can make the Y guards for the 1 oz. work.

If Do It isn't selling them, try this site again and just ask where you can get bigger Y guards. There's another company that makes them but I can't remember their name. (want to say it starts with a "B" but not sure) If I an find it, I will get back with you.

I would think that rockfish hit hard and these should work for you. If you find it, get back with me and I'll give you a tip or two that has worked for me when using Y guards. Good luck!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by coach23 View Post
    I have never used weedguards before and not sure about how it will work with rock.