Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trim Gauge question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trim Gauge question

First of all I would like to let everyone know that I now have my new boat. I've been waiting ever since I was a kid for it. Now my wife tells me I'm a kid again, cause I got the toy I always wanted. I am new to operating a boat. I have never done it before and need a little help. I have been reading all my manuals so I can be familiar with the boat and motor. My question is about the trim gauge. Does this tell you how you should trim your motor up or down? It has a picture in the middle of the boat on plane, then up on the right and down on the left. If the hand is pointing up, does that mean you need to trim down, and if the hand is down does that mean you need to trim up? Should you try to keep the hand in the center where it shows the boat on plane, or should you keep it just a little up? Thanks for the help.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Congradulations CS, I'm 62 years old and have had a lot of boats, but never a new one. Maybe some day if I live long enough. As for your trim gauge, it is a reference. When you take off from dead stop. trim the motor all the way down to get you on plane quicker. Note where the gauge is pointing and you won't have to look at the motor every time. Once you get going and on plane, start trimming the motor up a little at a time. You will feel the steering getting easier and if you go too far it will start porpoising, again note the setting. Once you get out and play with it, you will learn where to trim the motor for any given speed. I hope I made sense.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like