Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: line choices

Post Thanks / Like

Default line choices

Hey yall, what kinda line do yall use for spider rigs? I have been using 6lb high visability. Is there a choice for much stronger line with the same diameter. I have only used mono since the other stuff like braid and florocarbon are pricey. My concern with braid is that it looks like string and I'm afraid it will be easy for the fish to see. The floro I've heard is invisible but is it stronger than mono or about the same. The price is high so something must be better. Anyway fill me in on your thoughts on the topic. Thanks, superfly.

Post Thanks / Like

I am no expert to say the least but I like to use either Suffix Siege in 10lb and use 10lb Berkley Vanish fluorocarbon for my rigs--or straight 10lb vanish all the way around. I also use 6 or 8lb on my 11ft jig pole that I spider rig with sometimes as well--the line on this one is suffix siege as well--and again the rig is 10lb Vanish. I like the Vanish because it does disappear in the water. No sense in using it on your whole spool-because it is expensive. With one spool (250yrds) I can get 187 rigs tied--about .03 per rig worth of line--so one spool will last a long time. I don't like the braid myself due to I'd rather break my line as my pole--but you should use a leader on it as well. So far this year I have not broken off yet spider rigging using the Suffix and Vanish. Just my .02 cents. Good Luck to ya.

Post Thanks / Like

just been in this for a little over a year but started with vicious 6# spider riggin in open type waters and have not broke a line yet. have lost fish by every other method known to man but not because of line breaking, as of yet......
    DEAD AS FRIED CHICKEN

Post Thanks / Like