PDA

View Full Version : Don't like to use minnows. Will crappies bite on worms? What else?

rockbassguy
07-21-2012, 11:40 AM
Friend says crappie just like to feed on minnows not worms. I fish from shore. Do crappies come in to the shallows(5') to feed at night or in the morning when it is this hot? Caught a couple crappies with worms. I have berkley minnow swimbaits, beetle jigs, beetle spins, berkley maggots, minnow jigs, etc. I like to fish with a sinker on the bottom & 3 prerigged gold aberdeen #6 hooks with crawler(then i can cast with a second pole). I caught 2 crappie this year with this rig. Caught 2 triples this year. 1 with a small bass & 2 gills. 1 with 3 gills. Lot of fun! Going to use 2 poles & see if i can catch 2 triples at the same time. Going to try a new lake that is supposed to have black crappie.

TigerFanatic1
07-21-2012, 01:03 PM
Welcome to the board. I don't have much info to offer since I am a novice, but I have never had success with crappie using worms. Not to say it can't be done, I just haven't been able to produce.

Cray
07-21-2012, 03:34 PM
If they any crappie around them nettle spins and minnow jigs aight to catch em. Get some blak and chartreuse bodies along with pink and chartreuse .

Tracy Swanson
07-21-2012, 04:14 PM
yes you can catch a crappie on a live worm and wax worms mill worms but a jig or a minnow tipped jig will out fish them 50 to 1 get you some minnows and fish around brush and stumps and trees docks beaver huts trees that have falling in the lake with jigs and minnows good luck

shipahoy41
07-21-2012, 06:16 PM
Welcome from Alabama. Crappies will bite marabou jigs or soft plastic baits readily. Take a look in the jig tying forum and also the DIY plastics forum. There is a wealth of information there. I fish from the bank about 90% of the time. I know artificial work. There is also a stickie at the top of this main forum where members have posted knots and rig drawing ideas.

CrappiePappy
07-22-2012, 07:18 AM