Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: New to crappie fishing

sirmo Guest

Default New to crappie fishing

I posted this under the main crappie fishing forum and someone suggested I post it here as well.....

Looking for some quick advice

I am in Jacksonville Fl fishing the Oklawaha river.

I'm kinda new at this (bass fisherman) and tried last weekend. Caught 4 using just minnows.

Wanting to incorporate some jigs in this weekends attempt.

I picked some up at wal-mart. Is it a good idea to put minnows on my jigs, or are the jigs to be fished alone.

Thanks for some advice!

Sirmo

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Sirmo;
    I've seen where some guys do add minnows to their jigs.
    I believe it's more of an experimental thing. If one thing doesn't work well, then try another technique.
    In order to know the truth as to if a particular technique works or not, you'd have to know for sure that there are fish down there to begin with, then you'd know whether they like what you're presenting or not. What they turn on to this week might not necessarily work next week, got to be ready to try something different till you hit the hot one.
    Myself, last year I used minnows exclusively as they worked well and I had no reason to change up.
    This year, am still waiting for the bite to take off, been throwing everything out there with absolutely no bites.
    Have started hearing spotty reports of a few being caught (Central Fla).
    Heading to "East Lake Toho" (Kissimmie-south of Orlando) Sat morning, been dying all summer to get back to pulling in some slabs.
    Good luck to you !
    "Teach a man to fish = he can feed himself "
    "Teach the world to fish = you won't have any fish left to eat "

Post Thanks / Like

Cool Hey Sirmo ...