Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shimano or Lews

Post Thanks / Like

Default Shimano or Lews

I'm new to crappie.com and have enjoyed reading the post on here. I need some reel help. I've done some searching on here for reels and I've narrowed it down to two reels. The Shimano Sienna 500 or Lews WMS50. Both reels are 29.99 and equal in weight but the Lews does have more ball bearings. I'm putting it on my 10' BBUL rod. Any opinions are welcome.

Post Thanks / Like

what specifically are you trying to cast?

Post Thanks / Like

Won't be casting. Vertical jigging and pitching jigs. I know any cheap reel would work for a line holder but I want something that operates smoothly and will last. I've always used Plueger baitcasters and I would like a Plueger President 6920 but I feel one of these cheaper reels will serve me well for the application.

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

My only opinion is to get a reel that weighs enough to balance your 10' BBUL ... even if that means getting something bigger than a 50/500 series reel !! You won't notice the difference in total weight, with a bigger/heavier reel, than you will with a tip heavy 10' rod !!

... cp

Post Thanks / Like

It's very hard to go wrong with a Shimano. Also, quality of ball bearings trumps the number. Shimano's bearings are top of the line.

Post Thanks / Like

You can't go wrong with a Shimano reel it's all I use. If you're where the reels are at take your rod with you and put the reels on it!!!!!!!! X2 with pappy on making sure it balances and putting the reels on the pole with tell you.