Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Holding 9' and 10' Rod

Post Thanks / Like

Default Holding 9' and 10' Rod

This may not be anything new to many people, but it's new to me and I just want to share it. I was in a treetop in 14' of water and fishing at about 10'. Just had a small bell weight on bottom and a single hook with a minnow tied to a loop knot about 2' above the weight. I was holding my 9' rod, which has a Mighty Lite closed faced spinning reel with the large trigger. I was holding the rod as usual with the reel between my index and middle finger as I've been doing for many, many years. For some reason I moved my hand up the pole so that the reel was now behind my hand, with the entire butt running along the bottom of my forearm, and I'm holding the rod itself, not any part of the foam (or cork). Lucky for me, I felt a small tap and landed a nice little crappie, about 11" So, I lowered my minnow down and held onto the blank again and noticed that I could really feel the brush below me as I raised and lowered my bait. It amazed me how well I could "feel" what was happening. I had a good day of fishing and believe I was feeling more bites that I may have been missing when holding the rod by the handle with the cork or foam. Lastly, I do have a few rods with the cut-out for the index finger so that it is touching the blank and that is good, but putting all four fingers on the rod seemed to make a big difference for me.

Any similar experience from anyone? Or, am I just imaging this? Maybe I'm just nuts!!!
    GET THE NET HAROLD, GET THE NET!!

Post Thanks / Like

I use a similar 10ft pole set up rigged for bream and find that its very sensitive too.I think its a combination of a couple of things 1 being the length of the rod and the other being that the sinker is tied to the very end of the line. I usually use a 1/4 bell sinker and a #6 long shaft bream hook above it.