Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Shovelnose sturgeon fry?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Shovelnose sturgeon fry?

Does a 1"-1.5" shovelnose sturgeon fry look enough like an adult that you can tell what it is?

I was camping with some friends on the Kansas river this weekend between Wamego and St Marys. I scooped up a bucket of river water to put out the campfire. When the sediment settled, I noticed a small 1" fish swimming in my bucket. I watched it for a while trying to figure out what it was. It sure looked like a miniature shovelnose sturgeon. I scooped it up in my hands and put it back in the river.

I've been wishing to catch an adult one of those for a couple years now, but have not been successful. Kind of an insult to my fishing abilities if I just scooped up a bucket of water and there was one in there...

P.S. The catfishing was slow. Good thing we brought hot dogs, or we would have starved.
    I am just pullin' your leg.:D

Post Thanks / Like

I don't know what a little one looks like. But I can tell you that fishing in the smoky hill river use enough weight to keep you out in the middle of the river on the bottom and use either a dead minnow or a worm almost always results in a annoying sturgeon. I would assume it would work in the Kansas River as well

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by drakewoodie View Post
    I don't know what a little one looks like. But I can tell you that fishing in the smoky hill river use enough weight to keep you out in the middle of the river on the bottom and use either a dead minnow or a worm almost always results in a annoying sturgeon. I would assume it would work in the Kansas River as well
    Annoying? C'mon, man! Any fish bite is better than no fish bite, right?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Fish Taxi View Post
    Annoying? C'mon, man! Any fish bite is better than no fish bite, right?
    I would rather catch no fish the have those things eating up all my bait