Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Put together a beginner Bream fisher Package

Post Thanks / Like

Default Put together a beginner Bream fisher Package

Dear Fisherman,

I am a newbie, as stated before. If you had to pick say 2 rod and reel combos for a beginner bream fisherman, plus lures/bait, and type of line to use, what would it be? ( I am going to post the same thing on the crappie board too, same question)

I will really appreciate you guys insight.

Justin

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cant beat a 33 Classic

I always use the old Zebco 33 classics for bream/shellcracker fishing. I mostly fish on the bottom with red wigglers or night crawlers. Good luck!

Post Thanks / Like

I'd recommend a 5wt fly rod and a light spinning outfit. For the fly outfit, get a selection of small poppers, dry flies and nymphs and you'll be set. I'm sure Robert will chime in here about the fun and effectiveness of the fly rod!

For spinning, I use live maggots about 99% of the time, but small jigs (like the Beetle Spin) are good artificial baits.

Post Thanks / Like

Get yourself a small shimano spinning reel, some floats (1 inch cork will do), some small cricket hooks and a pack of small split shot sinkers. Go by the tackle shop and pick up a cricket bucket and get them to fill it with crickets, go and get 'em. Why complicate something so simple, I just like to keep things simple. good luck

Post Thanks / Like

Opps second post is the real one this one got screwed up
    Last edited by Bluegillfreak; 05-23-2006 at 01:54 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Im a greedy lil kid i use my bass rods for crappie/bass and bluegill basicly one rod suites all to me i got one that was decent for all and soon to get one strickly for bass all $150+ of it and retire my old one to crappie and i have got a ultralite abu garcia rod and reel for bluegill my favorite bait is A) NightCrawlers B) Crikets C) Bread D)bolny or how ever you spell it.

Post Thanks / Like