Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Put Together a Beginner Crappie Fisherman Package

Post Thanks / Like

Default Put Together a Beginner Crappie Fisherman Package

Dear Fisherman,

I am a newbie, as stated before. If you had to pick say 2 rod and reel combos for a beginner Crappie fisherman, plus lures/bait, and type of line to use, what would it be? ( I am going to post the same thing on the bream board too, same question)

I will really appreciate you guys insight.

Justin

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by ouachitafisher
    Dear Fisherman,

I am a newbie, as stated before. If you had to pick say 2 rod and reel combos for a beginner Crappie fisherman, plus lures/bait, and type of line to use, what would it be? ( I am going to post the same thing on the bream board too, same question)

I will really appreciate you guys insight.

Justin

It really depends on how serious you want to get involved. (Money wise). You could start with a couple of the el' cheap o' crappie poles from Wall-Mart. 9.99 each, they're fine, and I have a few myself. However, I would go with 2 Wally Marshall 12' rods ($49.99) each at BPS, and pick up 2 cheap crappie baitcasting style reels. ($13.00) Plenty to get you started.

As far as bait. I Always fished with minnows as a kid, and I will continue to do so today. When you get bored with minnows, and crappie aren't biting them, Then work your way up to jigs, roadrunners, then custom tied jigs. Bait is always more of a personal preference, or what everybody else is using in one particular day.

Line. Lets get real here. Were catching very small fish, most of us will never see a 4lber, so keep your line test at a minimal (mainly for visibility underwater).

***Boats. You do not have to have a Ranger, Stratos, Skeeter style bass boat to catch fish either. My 14' jon has pulled in TONS of fish, and it's easier to take care of, not to meantion cheaper.