Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trying to Find Redears

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trying to Find Redears

Hello, I am new to crappie.com & really enjoying it-- I'm learning a lot from you fine folks! I came here looking for info on how to catch redears / shellcrackers, & I can tell you have more goods on this subject than anyplace else I've seen. Thanks a bunch! A few years ago I got on a sauger kick while living in Clarksville, TN, & had a blast learning how to target that species on the Cumberland River . . . while hunting them, I heard about shellcrackers, & did catch a couple small ones on jigs, purely by accident. Now I'd like to focus on redears, & so far, they're skunking me!

I'm going to tell you what I know about the lake I'm fishing & maybe you can help me out. The MO Cons. Dept. does annual electrosurveys on this body of water, & since 1994 at least, has always reported many 10"-plus redears, plus a number of other species. Primary lake forage is gizzard shad. I have been pounding crappie & walleye for years with good success, but have yet to pull in a redear, & furthermore, I've looked through the many photos in the marina & haven't seen anyone with a single redear. I know that doesn't mean nobody's getting any . . . but I really do think they are being overlooked on this particular reservoir.