Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: What factors affect color choice?

Post Thanks / Like

Default What factors affect color choice?

Hey guys, relative newbie here.

I was wondering what factors influence color choice (and how so) from you more experienced anglers. (e.g. brighter or darker jigs/twistertails in clearer or murkier water, hotter or colder, early or late in day, early or late in season, whatever)

Any reasonable advice would be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Look at the bottom of this page in the related threads links. Some great reading there. I like dark color in dingy water and clean colors in clear water. That said a man once told me crappie are like little girls, they like loud colors and heavy contrast in colors. Pink head, dark blue body and chartreuse tail, sounds like something a little girl would pick dont it?

NIMROD is offline Crappie.com Legend - Kids Corner Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

Light colors in clear and dark/chartruse in dingy water. Sometimes amount of sunlight or lack of it will favor darker colors.
    Moderator of Beginners n Mentoring forum
    Takeum Jigs

Post Thanks / Like

Same as ^^^ and ^^^ and welcome to the forum.
    "Proud Member of Team Geezer"

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Wink IMHO ..... (& JUST my opinion)

The only "reasonable" advice I can give you, is to not get too hung up on "color". It's not always the magic bullet. FINDING the fish is factor #1 .... then presentation (style & speed) ... then bait size & color.

When it comes to the "color" portion of these factors ... what you're looking for is "contrast" (dark/light, dull/shiny, clear/opaque, etc). What contrast will do, is give the fish something to key on, regardless of the water clarity or background coloration.