Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 10 and 12 ft rods versus 5' 6 ultra light rods

Post Thanks / Like

Default 10 and 12 ft rods versus 5' 6 ultra light rods

I am A newbie to crappie fishing and have been using two 5' 6" ultra light rods hanging off the front of my
    14' sea nymph but me wanting to be like the pros I ordered two 10' and two 12' rods now I am having second thoughts about this decision
    being that I already dont have alot of room on my boat

What would you guys suggest? I do want to rig 4 poles in the front and have to out the sides towards the middle of my boat that my fiance can manage.

Post Thanks / Like

I am a newbie also, but I think buying the longer poles will be great. It will allow you to get further away from the boat when they are easily spooked plus the different lengths will assist in not creating a four pole knot.

Post Thanks / Like

In a smaller boat, in my opinion, you want your rods to be at least a few feet shorter than the boat. It makes landing big fish easier, especially if you're alone. It's also easier to rig a rod with the tip closer, at least for me. If you've got a long setup, the reel may end up dangling in the water. My first spider "rig" was a 14' duck boat...9' and 10' rods fit very nicely.

I sure like to get my bait as far in front as possible, but sometimes you can only do so much and still keep the sanity.

skeetbum is online now Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like