Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Searching for the ideal fishin' boat

Post Thanks / Like

Default Searching for the ideal fishin' boat

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the board, and really enjoying reading all the posts and articles. I'm a long-time fisherman that had a nice tin bass boat about 17 years ago (Lowe). Back then, I was primarily a bass fisherman. Because my kids needed the $$ more than I did, I've since been fishing out of a 14-foot jon with a 9.9HP Evinrude and a TM. This rig is great for some of the 80-acre lakes near my house, but not quite adequate for large impoundments like Truman and Table Rock.

Now that my kids are ALMOST out of the house, I'd like to get another big boat. I can tell you that at one time, my dream rig was a nice, flashy fiberglass rig, complete with fancy electronics and a moderately sized outboard. However, I'm now more of a multi-species angler rather than just a bass fisherman. Crappie are high on my list (not excluding white bass, channel cat, smallies, etc.).

My question is this: Do most of you fish from a multi-species boat like a tin rig, or do some of you have glass boats? I've given it lots of thought, and I personally think a fancy glass rig would be a waste of money for me. Right now, I'm thinking something like a Crestliner, Lowe, G3, etc. with no more than a 115HP motor. Sorry for the long thread, but I just wanted to get everyone's thoughts.

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

I sure like my center console Predator. It is an 18' glass boat with a 90 hp Johnson.

Post Thanks / Like

I fish out of a Stratos 219 multi species fiberglass boat. They dont make this model anymore but its comparable to the Ranger fisherman series boats but about 20,000 less . Stratos makes a couple of mulit species glass boats now.

Post Thanks / Like