Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: stumble around, have a good day: think you are an expert.

Post Thanks / Like

Default stumble around, have a good day: think you are an expert.

I am fairly new to crappie and stupid as a rock. A couple of days and every thing clicks, putting nice fish in the boat. Two days later, a blue bird sky and I can't buy a decent fish. Same stumps, same baits...nada. I am going to have to go back to the early lessons on "why you aren't catching crappie". Do you old "pros" have the same problems or do you stay home those days. I get a few hours or a day here and there to fish. Can't pick and choose my days. Fish when I can and say it's better than working.

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I get em too, but not as often as I used to. As you go through the learning process you will accumulate a bag of tricks. Sometimes you don't have to dig too deep into it, and other days you wish it had more in it. Keep pluggin away and paying attention when times are tough and you'll find out how to put at least a few in the cooler. Minnows help on tough days, but that's not written in stone either. Like you say, beats workin.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around

Post Thanks / Like

I am with Skeetbum on this one. When nothing works that you normally do, then it is time to get creative. Mix and match different jigs with different tails. Mix up the retrieves and get aggressive and then kill it, and then get aggresive again. If you have ever watched a dying minnow in the water,try to mimmick its actions. After a front goes thru I will go to a red head 1/16th RR with a white or pearl bubble belly tail. Jig it very slow and pay attentions to the line. Bites are very light when doing this.