Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: FOR: Friends of Reservoirs??

Post Thanks / Like

Default FOR: Friends of Reservoirs??

I'm just starting to do some research on the not-for-profit organization "Friends of Reservoirs" and thought I would come to the experts. If anyone knows anything about the org., whether it's good or bad, please shoot me a p.m.

I would appreciate any links or names/e-mails of websites and people who have started a chapter or served in any capacity.
    My understanding, so far, is that these groups are formed to help improve fish habitat, work to preserve reservoirs from siltation by stabilizing erosive banks, help build wing dams to prevent wind erosion, etc.....but again, I'm just learning about the org, so this may not all be 100% correct. Please tell me if I'm wrong

Thanks for any and all input

vic

Post Thanks / Like

Sir, am a "Friend" of CJ Brown Reservoir (Buck Creek State Park ) in Ohio. Over the last 4 yrs we have placed 875+ attactors into said body of water with permission from and following the guidelines of ODNR and the US Army Corps of Engineers. We are non profit, solely privately funded and totally dependant upon volunteer labor. We also try to do an annual "litter pick up" around the Park and have collected about 100 bags in those 4 yrs. COE and ODNR and the Ohio Dept of Parks have ALL been very cooperative and helpful in our endeavor. The cover SEEMS to be helping the overall panfish population, particularly the yellow perch which had seemed to be declining in numbers recently as the result of decomposing of their former spawning cover. 4 yrs later their overall numbers AND size seem to be rebounding, and the cover provides good crappie spawn cover also.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Lowellhturner View Post