Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Line twist using a float

Post Thanks / Like

Default Line twist using a float

Pretty new to crappie fishing -- I like using a float above two jigs like others on here. I usually tie a 1/16 jig on with a palomar and then tie a 1/8th jig 12-18 inches below that. Sometimes when I cast the top jig and the bobber tend to get twisted up badly. What am I doing wrong? Should I not try to cast very far at all? Is it all about weight distribution? Please help!

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Not being an expert I would say it is weight distribution. I have found that if I take my time casting I can eliminate this from happening most of the time. Try not to leave too much line hanging down when you cast.
    I can't leave now; They fixen to turn on.

Post Thanks / Like

I thought the smart thing to do was to put the heaviest jig on the bottom. Should I switch them? When I cast, the bobber is at the very tip of the rod, there is no extra line hanging.

Post Thanks / Like

If I were you, I would not overhand cast- I would underhand flip it out there. This way the momentum of the heavier jig should lead the way and have a gentler journey until it hits the water. Overhand hefting it out there causes a rotation of the components these complicated rigs and the hooks end up finding the line during the cast.

Post Thanks / Like

I am with TwainGang. Either cast underhand or try sidearm and try not to flip your wrist. If you flip your wrist it adds a flip to your setup causing your jig to come back to your bobber. I hope this helps.
    To make life enjoyable, you must have crappie days.

Post Thanks / Like

Use a round bobber. It wont twist up in your line like the long thin ones will.

Post Thanks / Like

If you would try a slip bobber it might fix the problem. They are great for casting when your target depth is over 4 or 5 ft under the bobber.

Rod

Post Thanks / Like

Default bobber