PDA

View Full Version : favorite fillet knife/ or electric knife?

Smoltz
03-11-2012, 08:48 PM
i have always used a traditional fillet knife. the knifes are not that great and dull quick making you have to resharpen often or making filleting a chore. so whats your favorite knife? or electric knife? i have never used electric before? is it alot nicer or easier with electric?? im sure they dont need replaced that often.. but are they easy to control on smaller fish like crappie, perch and gills?

dkb23
03-11-2012, 09:54 PM
Oh boy.....here we go! I'll start it off. American Angler electric fillet knife. Who's next?:popcorn

gone fission
03-12-2012, 06:43 AM
Wonna them 8 dollar black and decker electric carving from rural king works just as good, then cut out rib cages with 4 inch fillet knife

joejv4
03-12-2012, 07:15 AM
Got a 7" Rapala manual fillet knife, flexible and holds an edge well enough to get through a limit (25) of crappie. I usually give it a quick touch up on a steel before I start a batch of fish. Takes less than a minute to fillet a fish and I don't end up with guts and eggs all over my cutting board like I do when I tried an electric.

river scum
03-12-2012, 07:27 AM
Rapala

throwback
03-12-2012, 09:24 AM
I use the electric Rapala with the cord. Works good for me. I know a couple of other guys I fish with that use them and like them.

jvg
03-12-2012, 09:47 AM
American angler

Bronson
03-12-2012, 10:37 AM
I used to be a big American Angler fan but the last one I bought will probably be the last one I'll ever buy. Looks to be much cheaper made than the ones I used to get. The one before it only lasted a couple of months and when I took it apart I saw where the screws had worked out of it.