Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Attn: PowerPro Braided Line for Spinning Reels

Post Thanks / Like

Default Attn: PowerPro Braided Line for Spinning Reels

Opening this up for comment and discussion. Are the features named out below really necessary? Are these features worth the money? Is there a business connection between PowerPro and Shimano? Anybody used these reels.

I've been using PPB and other braided for several years and am pretty satisfied with PPB. However, never went to the PP website and looked at specs, knots and general info for PPB. So, I did and found something interesting concerning backlash, loops, and tangles. From the website: "PowerPro will outperform monofilament and other super lines because of the EBT process. Spinning reels equipped with the Propulsion Line Management System are ideal for use with PowerPro as the small loops thrown off the spool minimize backlash, loops and tangles. For the best PowerPro spinning reel experience look for Propulsion equipped spinning reels that also utilize the Aero Wrap II Oscillation for the best line lay possible." Off I go researching on the web and have many, many hits for ... Shimano. Spent a few hours going through Shimano spinning reels to find those that have the two features above. The least expensive, Saros F 1000 model, with a MSRP of $129 has Propulsion feature, but not Aero feature. The next jump is to the Stradic CI4, 1000 model with MSRP of $199. Prices go up from there for other models. What the ....

Oh, looks like the Sahara has propulsion too and msrp of $79

Saros F Saros F

Stradic CI4 Stradic CI4
    Last edited by CrappMaster; 03-09-2012 at 11:44 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

I don't know if there's a relationship or not, but as braid has become more popular, it makes perfect sense that reel manufacturers would build in features that will maximize braid performance.