Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Info on night fishing lights.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Info on night fishing lights.

I've read many threads on this, but would like to dredge it up again. It gets real hot down here in south GA, and even the nights are very warm. However, night fishing may be a great option to replenish the old freezer with fish. I've never done this before. Looks really cool.

Information about my fishing situation.
    I fish in large ponds (15-30 acres) in south GA. Some are overpopulated with crappie. I want to night fish during the summer months. I use a small (10') pond boat. I have an anchor.

Questions.
    1. Are the bigger lights necessary if I only fish in 15 ft of water?
    2. How do you hook up muliple lights to a battery? The alligator clips may not serve for muliple lights.
    3. What kind of bait do you use? I like curly tail jigs.

Observations.
    Reel-lites and Auroras look like the real deal, cost more though.
    Optronics lights look like a nice compromise, at least for a beginner like me.
    I may do a combo of floating and submerged green light, just to learn.

Post Thanks / Like

The more light the better I also have LED lights in the boat for retying lines, baiting hooks, etc.

Hook one to the deep cycle and one to the starter or cut off the clips and wire and wire 2 lights together or you can use 1 light and a latern(s) hanging above the water (old school)...put some tinfoil on the boat side to cut down on the glare.

I usually use minnows at night but have used jigs with some success.

You will do fine with the Optronics, its what I use and never had a problem.
    For the Everlasting Glory of the Infantry.

"G" is offline Super Duper Moderator - 2012 Crappie.Com Man of the year & 2018 Crappie.com Decade of Exceptional Service Awards * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like