Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spider rigging.....long poling......recognizing hits.....fish on???

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spider rigging.....long poling......recognizing hits.....fish on???

I've been doing some reading on this site and on others about spider rigging...long poling etc. I've never done it before and wanted to give it a try so I purchased two 3 rod holders and 4 BnM rods....two 12 foot rods and two 10 foot rods. I understand how to rig my lines and I understand how to go about slow trolling so I don't think I have any issues there. BUT....I've seen several comments and references to learing to recognize when a fish is biting or when a fish is on with those long poles. I can see that if I'm pushing 12 foot poles and is using a heavy weight to keep the bait/jigs vertical that it might be tough to see soft strikes but how tough can it be to see when a fish is on.

What I'm asking for is what tips can you folks give me before my first outing.

Post Thanks / Like

90% of the time you will know it for sure. Sometimes you just see the line move sideways or get a little slack. Thats when it helps if you got Hi-Viz line.

MEMBER CRAPPIE MAFIA

gabowman is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by wilbur View Post
    90% of the time you will know it for sure. Sometimes you just see the line move sideways or get a little slack. Thats when it helps if you got Hi-Viz line.
    DittoThumbs Up It helps if all your rod tips re set even about a foot (or less) from the water. Having 'em all set even then youll notice one slightly down or up from the rest.

Post Thanks / Like

Like gabowman said,have the rods at the same distance from water,the way my acts if the fish any size at all,you will see the tip going down toward the water,or see the line jerk or take off another direction. Now that is a good sight to see,especially 3 or 4 tips going down at once.