Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: pier shootin

Post Thanks / Like

Default pier shootin

i am new to pier shootin. what is the best rod and reel combo and length to use for this presentation.
    Roll Tide Roll with a crappie on a pole!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pier Shooting

Go to YouTube and google "shooting docks"; there are good tips there along with techniques and tackle reccomendations. I've tried with a short (5ft) rod with a fast tip and 2 lb test line. So far, I suck at shooting, but my best efforts to get something under a dock is to back off the dock and throw a 1/24 oz jig with a Bobby Garland's body. I aim for the jig to impact at the water right under the door or dock and you can usually get them back 5-8 feet with a 7 ft Rapala Crappie rod.

Good luck in the shooting, it requires some patience.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Slabby ... general concensus says any rod from 5' to 7' ... lite to med/lite power ... moderate to fast action tip.

Learning the technique is more important than rod length &/or rod/reel combos. Read my replies in this thread : http://www.crappie.com/crappie/main-...ecnique-2.html and if you have any questions, feel free to PM me. I say that, because the link takes you to a thread that is 6yrs old, and I may have refined things a little, since then.

I currently use a 5'6" ESP UL rod ... Shakespeare Alpha XT Lite UL reel ... Mr Crappie Super hi-vis 4lb mono ... for most of my dock shooting. My backup is a 5' Zebco rod with the same type reel/line. My main jig casting outfit is a 6'6" PowerLite ESP rod with a Shimano Aero 1000 reel with Vicious hi-vis 4lb mono ... but, I have no problem using it to shoot docks, if I happen to have it in hand when the opportunity appears.

... cp

Post Thanks / Like