Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: DIY Rod Rack From Lowes

Post Thanks / Like

Default DIY Rod Rack From Lowes

I thought I might share with some people looking to build their own setup as trying to find a used rig or coming up with the cash for new gear just didn't work out for me. I've been trolling for crappie for close to 10 years now and had the advantage of learning from a very proficient fisherman. I was recently able to buy MY OWN BOAT that is strictly for me and fishing. Now that it's paid for I wanted to search out full rigging. I'm cheap and just getting married and purchasing my first house hasn't helped matters. On with the process!

Everything can be bought at Lowes or most home improvement stores. I started out with two front racks with fully adjustable PVC holders. I drew a schematic for them until I have pics of my rig. The rack itself is made out of black metal water pipe(sprinkler line stuff I think). I bouhgt pieces that were already pre cut and threaded wich added to the cost but I was to impaitent to heave Lowes cut to legnth and thread a big pice which would have been cheaper. For a single front rack it consists of two pieces of 3/4" pipe, one 3/4X3/4X1" t-coupling, one piece of 1 inch pipe and a 1" floor mounting plate. Length is up to you and depends on how many rod holders you intend on having as well as how high you want it to sit.

My current rod holders are made simply out of 8" pieces of heavy duty 1-1/2 PVC notched and drilled with a 3/8" hole.