PDA

View Full Version : Long lining ?

Handicrappie
02-13-2012, 06:03 PM
I am going to get into this this year. I was thinking of running a 8, 10, 12 and 14ft pole out of each side of the boat. Is this enough separation in the poles and should I only run 3 poles instead of 4? Using a hi-tek holder for the rods to sit in.

huntinslabs
02-13-2012, 06:22 PM
I run 5',7',10',13' and 16 on each side. Just gotta watch your lines close.

Swampfoot
02-13-2012, 06:26 PM
Ill be watching to see what the long liners say. GOING TO TRY IT MYSELF.

huntinslabs
02-13-2012, 06:29 PM
It is very addictive, just remember, do not stop for anything and make real wide sweeping turns.

lostdog
02-13-2012, 06:34 PM
I use 3 on each side with a 4' gap (typically 12, 8 and 4ft). Then I run four rods off the back. I'm still pretty new to longlining, and this is what works for me. I'm sure some of the more experienced guys can run 4 or 5 on each side with less gap, but I get the lines crossed too often.

blueball
02-13-2012, 06:46 PM
tried it a few times last year,gonna learn this year or else,gonna go 6,10,14,18ft poles so i will have 4ft of seperation,and i think from what little i tried it last year u need your rod tips as close to the water as u can get them

Handicrappie
02-13-2012, 06:51 PM
I run 8, 12 and 16 pulling cranks. Sounds like I might better go for a little more separation. Might go 5, 8, 12 and 16. Keep the insight coming.

drill instructor
02-13-2012, 06:53 PM
That's my spread on the front sides of my boat works great and I agree don't stop for nothing keep trolling.

huntinslabs
02-13-2012, 07:00 PM
[QUOTE=blueball;1800352]tried it a few times last year,gonna learn this year or else,gonna go 6,10,14,18ft poles so i will have 4ft of seperation,and i think from what little i tried it last year u need your rod tips as close to the water as u can get them[/QUOTE