Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Shakamak State Park

ranfish1 Guest

Default Shakamak State Park

Anyone know anything about the North lake I'm leaving NW IN> To take my kids down there On the 4,5,and 6th of May. Just some direction would be good, Don't need a honey hole just a push in the right direction. Temp of water, Maybe a good color for jigs. Any help would be great.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm from the Chicago area and I have been fishing Shakamak, an average of twice a year for the last 25 years straight. We fish these lakes in mid to late September when the gills are putting on the feed and the fishing can be gigglishish. The small lake (Lanape) is my favorite and my confidence lake. The North lake (Shakamak) can be on and off and is at times a tough nut. You'll have to be versatile with your presentations during the hunt and you may find yourself taking fish both in skinny water and suspended over the deep but these fish are crackable. You'll be real happy with the thick 8" average size and variance in color these fish show.
    Panther Martin spinners make great search lures and allow you to work relatively fast during the hunt.
    Enjoy.
    Any

ranfish1 Guest

Default It's all good!