Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question from a Newbie.............

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question from a Newbie.............

New to crappie fishing. Having a little luck but trouble with 2 main things.....
    remember im a newbie...........
    I Use a bobber
    1)I can never get my line tight. After I cast out and reel in a little, theres always to much slack.
    2)I get a lot of bites, but land very few. How hard do you set the hook? Im just flipping the rod back with my wrists.

Thanks
    GO BENGALS!

Post Thanks / Like

Be sure not cast too far. If you are trying to get out further get a longer rod or jig pole.
    Dont jerk back like the guys on TV. Crappie are called papaer mouths for a reason. a good example would be: if your rod is in a rod holder and you see the bobber move, the motion f picking your rod out of the holder should set the hook. A flip of the wrist should do it, you might be using a big hook or dull hooks!

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Wink a couple of "suggestions" ...

cast the bobber rig out .... and slowly reel it back in - this will help keep the line tight, cover more water, and keep the bait moving (which is sometimes a key factor).

If letting the bobber rig sit in one place - when bobber starts going down ... start reeling first, then set the hook when the rod tip starts to bend. This will take care of the slack line problem.

How hard you set the hook depends on the rod (length/action), distance the bobber is away from the rod tip (line stretch), type of line used (mono stretches - braid don't). Setting the hook with slack line only causes lost fish ... setting the hook with "speed" rather than "power" will drive the hook home (as long as the line is taught, and not slack).