Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is your favorite way of fishing a jig?

Post Thanks / Like

Default What is your favorite way of fishing a jig?

I am new to using artificial lures for crappie and was wanting to know the best technique for fishing jigs. I fish from the bank, don't have a boat yet.

Post Thanks / Like

light weight head under a small tooth pic type ice float.....or deadsticking it down in brush and horsing em out

-ROMANS 10:9- PHILIPPIANS 4:13

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum
    Post Thanks / Like

From the bank I would have to say with a float. That maintains the depth and keeps it in their face more.
    Creativity is just intelligence fooling around

Post Thanks / Like

I like to fish vertical around barge poles and docks. We have a lot of color in the water where I fish. As far as you fishing from bank you shoulds look around your area for rock shore lines and off of bridges our under them.

Post Thanks / Like

I like to attach it to the end of my line and put it in water where there are fish :D

But for real - I also fish for crappie from the bank. I use live bait and jigs (sometimes, even crankbaits). If I am using jigs, then I fish either with a bobber/float or without. I like to just cast them and kinda swim them slow if I am not using a bobber. Mostly I use a bobber though, because I like to get in close to anything in the water and stay there - and the bobber lets me control depth since I cant be right on top of it like in a boat.

Although, I tend to catch larger fish when I swim the jig instead of using a bobber...maybe it the action, maybe its the lack of the surface movement.

Always had my best luck finding crappie around down trees and anything else in the water. Fairly close, but you dont have to be 2 inches away from it either.

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter