Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: White bass

Post Thanks / Like

Default White bass

Does anyone have tips on how to locate white bass on a lake? I've been reading that they're biting on a local lake (Normandy in TN) but don't know alot about fishing freshwater and the reports are real vague. Any help would be appreciated...Bryan

Post Thanks / Like

Im no expert by any stretch, but white bass are really hard to keep track of in most seasons. In summer and fall you can find them breaking on top chasing shad. In the late winter and early spring they start going up into the river to spawn. I like inline spinners like the blue fox vibrax and joe flies, also 2" to 3"grubs and hand tied jigs, gulp minnows are also good. I dont fish for them very much but they should be heading up in the river buy the end of the month. This time of year on cordell hull I have caught them on flats back in coves off the main lake. I dont know your lake so I dont know what they do there. It might be a good place to start.

Post Thanks / Like

White Bass are almost always moving somewhere. I don't personally have much experience this time of a year but the best you could really do is ask someone local where they have been catchin' em, if you find someone nice enough of course. But I can tell yea if you find em use simple shad/white colors normally. This can vary from cranks, inline spinners, and grubs for the most part. Don't know if it did, but hope this helped some. O yea and if you get in to 'em you might get warn out, if your lucky!!

jackie53 is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like