Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Crappie fishing and Truman Lake

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to Crappie fishing and Truman Lake

Hello fellow anglers. I'm very new to this posting and board use. I found this site on the web and was impressed with its content and respect to the sport and other fishermen. I live in the Kansas City area and fish a few home lakes. I travel to Branson a lot and fish Tanneycommo for trout using five foot ultra light poles and six pound line. I have fished for Crappie in the past with little to no luck using a bobber and minnow. I recently bought a new boat and have a strong interest in learning about Crappie fishing at Truman Lake. I have heard a lot of good things about the lake and the people that fish there. I hope to learn enough to catch fish and keep the wife and son interested in fishing.

I've been thinking about the area of the Dam, Bucksaw or Long Shoals unless theres better places.

If anyone has any tips on where to go or what type of equipment to use I'd be all ears. I have heard it's best to troll then to tie up. I've heard that longer poles are better. I've been looking at Crappie Max 10 foot poles and B and M's 10 foot poles at Bass Pro. Good or bad, right size anything better? Any ideas on areas to try or what to look for or methods to use?

Once again thank you for any and all information, I wish you all the best luck on the water. Be safe!
    Last edited by Called In Sick; 01-29-2012 at 08:08 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome Called In Sick. OK, Bucksaw is the center of Crappie activity on Truman. Great bunch of guys on here. Most of the activity now is still around Bucksaw, up or down a few. Can't go wrong with a 10 footer, depends on your preference of spine or backbone-everybody has their preference. Some people on here drown minners, some jigs--your choice. I don't allow minners in my boat. Best jig color on Truman is Blk/Chartrues. Good Luck