Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: slip bobber fishing??

Post Thanks / Like

Default slip bobber fishing??

I'm still fairly new to crappie fishing, and I've just been longline trolling so far. I was thinking about trying a few other techniques and had a few questions. When fishing with a slip bobber over structure, how far should you try to stay from the structure? I was planning on trying a 2 jig set-up with the slip bobber. I figure the shallower the structure is the farther away, but is that true for deeper structure too? and what is the rule for achoring down and fishing stucture where other people might be trolling? wouldn't want to be doing the wrong thing on the water. I try to be courtious to others. thanks for any help.
    **rww1977**

Post Thanks / Like

I'm getting more and more where I like to fish a cork and jig. All I can tell you is that you don't have to be that far away at all but I enjoy the fight of a nice slab hooked on a long cast. We jig fish right over our structure but fishing seems best with at least 8 to 10 feet of water. Actually, I think that the anchored boat kinda has the "right of way" so to speak. If you want to anchor, I wouldn't hesitate to do so.

Good Luck
    Dave
    CATCH A BIG-UN

Post Thanks / Like

thanks Dave. I hope to try out some cork fishing this weekend. do you fish stucture that is only showing fish or will you try structure even if it doesn't show any fish on the finder?
    **rww1977**

Post Thanks / Like