HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: longline trolling depths?

Post Thanks / Like

Default longline trolling depths?

I'm new to crappie fishing and was looking for some advice on longline trolling. Anyone got any tips on knowing the depth your jigs are running while trolling? Any tips for a beginner would be greatly appreciated
    **rww1977**

Post Thanks / Like

Many variables affect depth while longliniing. Jig weight, line weight and bouyancy, line length, and boat speed are the most important. I mainly adjust my jig weight, boat speed, and line length. Its not a precise method as each rod will vary some what in depth even with all these variables the same. You are trying to cover water and looking for aggressive feeders, so you are mostly targeting a depth zone that may vary up to four feet. Say you are keeping baits from 6-8 foot deep in 15 foot of water. Best thing to do is get out there and practice and find your way. There is not a chart or cheat sheet to go by. Hope this helps.
    Thanks Jarrell thanked you for this post

Post Thanks / Like

Run a search on Kelly Matthews old post, he has some info on this.

Post Thanks / Like

I can only tell you what I have done over the last 30+ years of this. I mostly long line in spring and fall. Spring mostly its will be water 6' to 10', but early and late spring it may also include some in 11' to 15'. Then fall a lot of 12' to 17' around Hydrilla especially on drop offs and around lay downs on steep banks. Places like that. Fall you may also find them when they go in the back of creeks and can be fairly shallow. I almost always use a 1/32 Oz. Roadrunner, but when deeper I have used some 1/16. Now also if I am in some of that water 12' and deeper with the wind blowing hard I will actually take a 1/8 Oz jig and pull it right next to me without letting it back far at all.

Good Luck,

Skip

Peak Vise Dealer
    Tying Materials, Chenille and Hackle
    For Pictures of my Crystal, Nylon/Rayon or