PDA

View Full Version : Night lites

EnonEye
10-31-2011, 01:18 PM
We've been having some great success this fall after dark using green lights and coleman lanterns over the side of the boat. Just wondering if there's any conventional wisdom on how deep to sink the green lights? We're fishing shallow water (5 foot) so not sure it'd make any difference and right now we're placing them just below the surface and it seems to be working just fine but always looking to fine tune:cool:

barrelslime
10-31-2011, 01:31 PM
My ? about night fishing is this, do you pick a random spot, above a brush pile, near structure? Lots of folks talk about night fishing, but rearly tell the particulars about whats going on.

EnonEye
10-31-2011, 02:12 PM
My ? about night fishing is this, do you pick a random spot, above a brush pile, near structure? Lots of folks talk about night fishing, but rearly tell the particulars about whats going on.
I've been targeting them for only 2 years now but I look for current (to bring them in), nearby deeper water (traveling lanes) and lilly pads (cover/food) nearby. That combo has been working at night. Though it's not easy doing the night fishing thing it seems to be when the big boys are out cruisin. Don't have a 17 1/2 incher though. What'd you catch that on, a 12" walleye?Thumbs Up

barrelslime
10-31-2011, 03:23 PM
I was actually bass fishing with a blue and yellow 1/2 oz Strike King spinner bait. He was a monster. Thanks for asking.
Iv got a spot on a local lake that I think would be good. Just off the main lake, over brush. In about 7 feet of water. Guess I'll never know till I try it. I thought night fishing for crappie was a summer thing.

"G"
10-31-2011, 03:38 PM