Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: newbie tight line question

Post Thanks / Like

Default newbie tight line question

Im new to crappie fishing and trying to learn to tight line. I went last week with not much sucess 4 fish. I was fishing over the drop off and could see fish on the fish finder. Had 10 foot poles rigged with 10 lb test line and homemade colecapp type leaders made of 10 lb test line with 1/2 and 3/4 sinkers. wind was blowing pretty good and fish were in 15 to 20 foot water. Lines never really felt tight and could never really feel the bottom. Lost rigs several times and never really felt the fish I caught. Yesterday I was reading a book on crappie fishing and it suggested 20 to 30 lb test line for main line and leaders and 1oz or larger sinkers. Seemed to this would make my line tighter and more "sensitive" especialy in the wind. Any help or suggestions ?

Post Thanks / Like

not much help on the type of rigging your talking about, I would have gone up wind and pitched a double jig set up 1/4 or 1/2 oz jigs and let it fall in front of the fish, and twitched it a bit,,, it that does not work I just spin arround and toss into the wind, sometime in the wind you have to drift it by them, if they do not want to bite it when it is sitting still,,, bet advice is keep reading,asking,and practice,practice, time on the water is a verry good teacher

Post Thanks / Like

Try using Hi-Viz line, I use 1oz. weights but there is times the pole never moves but you can see the line moving sideways.

MEMBER CRAPPIE MAFIA

Post Thanks / Like

What is the preffered rigging? Weight above barrel swivel then lures/jigs? Or weight on the bottom? Main reason for this question is with the weight above the swivel it likes to wrap the pole on transport, either on the road or the lake. I also switched to hi-vis line. It is amazing with a 1 1/2oz weight that pole tip moves with great ease.

Post Thanks / Like