Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question for all you trolling experts

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question for all you trolling experts

I need some help from all you trolling experts out there. I'm new at this trolling game and am trying to learn all that I can. I've been through the trolling 101 thread in the Mississipie formum and I don't think that I've seen this talk about. When trolling with live bait, (crawler harness etc) how can you know what depth your rig is running at? I'm using a 7 1/2 foot cabella's depthmaster trolling rod and depthmaster II dm20a line counter reel loaded with stren hi-vis gold 10lb line. I don't have any downriggers and don't plan on sinking the bucks into that. Thanks for any info you guys can give.

Kent

Post Thanks / Like

Your just gonna have to test. Go to 15fow at the speed you want then let out line a little at a time to see when you touch bottom. Make a note of how much line you let out.

MEMBER CRAPPIE MAFIA

Post Thanks / Like

depth obtained is dependent on various factors such as speed, size of line (4/6/8/10lb), weight of your lures, possibly even the rod action. Even the height of your rod tip above the water affects your depth acheived to a small extent. If you're happy with your 10lb line, find some shallow water, 6' for example, and troll over it until your lures drag/bump bottom, note the amount of line out and your speed, current, wind, size of lures,etc. Then find some 10 or 12 FOW, and do the same thing, let out enough line to drag/bump bottom. After you get several different depths noted, you can determine other depths based on what you have actually done. Speeding up will bring the lures up in the water column a little bit, while slowing down will cause the lures to go a bit deeper. You can fine tune your numbers over time, a gps and variable speed TM will be a big help.
    GO BIG ORANGE !

I meant to behave, but there were just way too many other options available at the time.