Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What speed do you troll at?

Post Thanks / Like

Default What speed do you troll at?

I'm new at trolling so I'm experimenting. I usually go pretty slow; a little less than 1/4 power on a 45# thrust motor; probably somewhere between 1 and 1-1/2 mph.

But here's the weird thing: When I decide to try another part of the lake...gun the motor up past 50%, probably 3-4 mph, I get some great hits! I didn't think a crappie could/would swim that fast.

I've caught more at the slower speeds but that might be because I spend 90% of time at slower speeds.

Am I going too slow?

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by bdorman View Post

Am I going too slow?
    Are you using a handheld GPS to gauge speed? I think you might be estimating on the high side of the speed range.

You probably are fine speedwise with jigs, but too slow for trolling cranks.

Post Thanks / Like

I troll most of the time around .5 to 1.2 pulling jigs.I dont think your trolling motor is getting to 3 or 4 mph I have a 80 lb thrust and all I get out of it full charged is 2.3.so when you go to higher speeds is more like 1.2 to 1.6 or so and thats where your getting bit get you a gps and you will know how fast your going and what speed there biting at hope this helps you out some.
    James & April Linderman

Vicious Tournament Team Members
    Southern Pro Pro Staff
    HI-Tek Rod Holders

Etowah, Tn. foothills to the Smokey Mountains
    Post Thanks / Like

We troll with planner boards pulling 1/16ounce jigs with southern pro hot grubs at .8-1.1 mph

Post Thanks / Like

.5 to .8 jigs,and road runners, 1.5 to 1.7 crank baits, and as fast as 2 on some days

STUMP HUNTER is offline Super Moderator * Crappie.com Supporter * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by beagle man View Post
    .5 to .8 jigs,and road runners, 1.5 to 1.7 crank baits, and as fast as 2 on some days